Tags:

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
Author
Posts
  • #3360

    I have been asked today a question discussed in the past both in PGV and webtrees. It is something not easily answered, so I thought I would raise it here, in case our smaller community can agree a solution where earlier and larger groups could not. here is the question as put to me today:
    ————————————————————————————————–
    Hallo Nigel,
    I am using Google Chrome: this is not very comfortable:

    So it is necessary to start the transaction new!
    Better: automatic go back to the last transaction…..

    and this does although not work….. go back by

    —————————————————————————————

    I will post my first response in the next post here.

    Nigel
    My personal kiwitrees site is www.our-families.info
  • #3361

    My first repose:
    —————————————————————

    I understand what you say. This has been discussed in webtrees and PGV before many times. Unfortunately there is no easy solution.

    You cannot go back to the previous transaction as that was always viewing the person you have now deleted. That is why using your browser’s back-button does not work. That does the same thing.

    Really you are asking to get back to the transaction BEFORE the previous one. But that is no longer known, and in some cases might not even exist if you go first to a person and immediately delete them.

    We could always go to the Home page – but when ever that was suggested users said they don’t want that. Some prefer “My page’, others something else. No agreement!

    So for now the answer remains to go nowhere – and leave you the choice of what to do next.
    ——————————————————————————————–

    Nigel
    My personal kiwitrees site is www.our-families.info
  • #3362

    Ah, yes indeed it isn’t the best but have never come up with something better so guess I’ve learned to live with it, good, bad or otherwise.

    I see it when I delete each person from a family then the family, if I recall correctly. Usually because I linked the said people together in error. Therefore, it’s kind of hard for kiwiTrees to know which record I want to return to. Perhaps the person’s record I was last at before clicking to view the family maybe a solution. As that is usually the record whose relationship I need to correct.

    -----
    [updated: 11 Jun 2021]
    MacOS: 10.15.7  (Catalina)
    Safari   14.0.3;  Firefox 89.0
    PHP 7.4 FastCGI

    Alter-Drukarsh connections... 3.3.8 <private>
    The Royals 3.3.8<royals.rbcsolutions.ca
    >
    The Gerrer Rebbes 3.3.8 <royals.rbcsolutions.ca/index.php?ged=rebbes>

  • #3363

    Perhaps the person’s record I was last at before clicking to view the family maybe a solution.

    Yes, that would be nice, but I’m not sure if I know how to programme clairvoyance into the system 🙂

    Here is a link to the last discussion I recall on webtrees about this: http://www.webtrees.net/index.php/en/forum/9-request-for-new-feature/5153-improve-routing-following-deletion-of-record.
    And this is the bug report mentioned : https://bugs.launchpad.net/webtrees/+bug/677811

    Equally unsuccessful though, as nothing was changed as a result of it except what we have now – the text at the top of the page like “The link from ‘Frederick James Williams + Mary Ann Erskine’ to ‘Sarah Ann Williams’ has been deleted”

    Nigel
    My personal kiwitrees site is www.our-families.info
  • #3364

    Yes, that would be nice, but I’m not sure if I know how to programme clairvoyance into the system 🙂

    Exactly. Maybe it’s question of the wording regarding not having permission that throws some. But, as you noted, this has been around since previous incarnations so have gotten accustom to it. I just consider it as acknowledging that I’ve deleted everything and figure out where I want to go back to.

    -----
    [updated: 11 Jun 2021]
    MacOS: 10.15.7  (Catalina)
    Safari   14.0.3;  Firefox 89.0
    PHP 7.4 FastCGI

    Alter-Drukarsh connections... 3.3.8 <private>
    The Royals 3.3.8<royals.rbcsolutions.ca
    >
    The Gerrer Rebbes 3.3.8 <royals.rbcsolutions.ca/index.php?ged=rebbes>

  • #3365

    What about a message like this: “Currently post has been deleted” If this was a mistake – you can reconstruct the post by using the logfiles” and then get the info from the logs in a popup (I know you dislike popups – but should be okay in this matter)

    I have never thinked about it could be a problem – because I know I just deleted the post. So it is not an issue for me 🙂

    Regards,
    Jamie Jaconelli

    admin and owner of a user customized version of kiwitrees (contains 3 family trees)

  • #3370

    Nigel:

    Have also learned to live with the current process and simply consider it a confirmation of the delete. Since Home page or My page are the only practical redirects and if a redirect is decided on, I have no preference. Normally my next step after a delete is a search action and either page gives me that option.

    Roy

    Roy

    Apache 2.4.27  PHP 7.19 MariaDB 10.2.8

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • The topic ‘Redirect after delete’ is closed to new replies.