Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
Author
Posts
  • #5323

    I set Research Task to show to managers however it’s exposed to visitors. What happened?

    -----
    [updated: 11 Jun 2021]
    MacOS: 10.15.7  (Catalina)
    Safari   14.0.3;  Firefox 89.0
    PHP 7.4 FastCGI

    Alter-Drukarsh connections... 3.3.8 <private>
    The Royals 3.3.8<royals.rbcsolutions.ca
    >
    The Gerrer Rebbes 3.3.8 <royals.rbcsolutions.ca/index.php?ged=rebbes>

  • #5324

    Okay, found that the setting for Privacy options had been set to disable. Not sure why.

    -----
    [updated: 11 Jun 2021]
    MacOS: 10.15.7  (Catalina)
    Safari   14.0.3;  Firefox 89.0
    PHP 7.4 FastCGI

    Alter-Drukarsh connections... 3.3.8 <private>
    The Royals 3.3.8<royals.rbcsolutions.ca
    >
    The Gerrer Rebbes 3.3.8 <royals.rbcsolutions.ca/index.php?ged=rebbes>

  • #5326

    Glad you found the problem.

    But it raises an interesting thought. Should we hide all privacy setting options once privacy itself is disabled? I’ve given no thought as to whether it’s even possible / practical, just wondering out loud…….

    Nigel
    My personal kiwitrees site is www.our-families.info
  • #5327

    What I realize that I should have checked at the same time is whether images I marked as managers only appeared.

    Not sure why I had privacy options disabled. Your help says

    ‘This option will enable all privacy settings and hide the details of living people, as defined or modified on the Privacy tab of each GEDCOM’s configuration page.’ but if how does it?

    ENABLED – I have living people set to show to visitors already, but RESN tags respected. DISABLED – it overruled my RESN tags but what else would happen?

    -----
    [updated: 11 Jun 2021]
    MacOS: 10.15.7  (Catalina)
    Safari   14.0.3;  Firefox 89.0
    PHP 7.4 FastCGI

    Alter-Drukarsh connections... 3.3.8 <private>
    The Royals 3.3.8<royals.rbcsolutions.ca
    >
    The Gerrer Rebbes 3.3.8 <royals.rbcsolutions.ca/index.php?ged=rebbes>

  • #5328

    If you ‘enable’ privacy, then it does as the help says – it hides the details of living people – in accordance with your subsequent settings.

    If you ‘disable’ privacy, then the details of living people are NOT hidden, regardless of any subsequent / other privacy setting you might try to use. In other words, there is no privacy.

    I have living people set to show to visitors already

    Really? I’d be surprised if you have. I can’t think of any such setting. Are you confusing it with “Show dead people”, the setting below “Privacy options”.

    Nigel
    My personal kiwitrees site is www.our-families.info
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • The topic ‘Privacy restrictions’ is closed to new replies.